I’m Theoretically a Theoretical Physicist . . . . In Theory

Time for a little confession. I nearly flunked my college physics courses. Well, maybe I wasn’t close to flunking, but it sure felt like I was. I studied until my brains turned into tapioca pudding, and still only felt I was grasping a few percentage points of the whole curriculum.

theorytwoI did make it through physics, but I realized after the experience that my life would be better suited making words than equations.

You know those TV shows where they interview actors and the biggest stars from the biggest movies? The host of the show sometimes asks the question, “And if you hadn’t become an actor, what other job would you have today?”

Sometimes the actor has a quick response. Sometimes they bite their lips and say, “I don’t know.”

Not knowing is a perfectly fine answer. How many of us actually ponder the parallel lives we could be living in alternate universes?

****my hand slowly raises***

If I were ever famous, and the host of a TV show asked me what else I would be doing if Itheorythree wasn’t doing this, my answer is, “I would be a theoretical physicist.”

That’s a problem since I could barely pass college physics.

Every theoretical physicist needs math skills. But, even more so, a theoretical physicist needs a theory. Many theories are later proven false through the process of the scientific method. It doesn’t matter. You still need one.

Nowhere do I think my idea will hold any water or survive any scrutiny or mathematical tests. Further, I don’t know how to apply mathematical tests to theories, so I’ll have to trust others to do that work for me.

My Theory

First there was string theory. It basically said the universe is made up of tiny, quantum, uni-dimensional particles, or strings, all vibrating at different wavelengths. These vibrations, in turn, cause different particles to represent themselves uniquely. Hence, the universe and everything in it exists.

Many physicists, such as Richard Feynman and Stephen Hawking, have debated string theory both ways, as a failed idea, and as the only one posited so far to be a possible “Theory of Everything”. That “Theory of Everything” is the Holy Grail of theoretical physics. But so far, string theory is just another interesting idea yet to be proven as the basic underlying principle of existence.

Bubble-WrapIn light of all these perceived failures of string theory, let me provide another in its place: Bubble Wrap Theory.

My theory: the universe consists of tiny bubbles held together by a film or fabric. The bubbles are pockets of information, like seeds, that when “planted” in time and space grow into the stuff we call The Universe.

All of the bubbles, seemingly an infinite amount of them spread across the galaxy, all contain information code that programs our little sector of the universe.

The bubbles serve as DNA packets for the galaxy. Our little corner of space has bubbles that contain information for a rather ordinary star, eight planets, some of them more remarkable than others, and information for at least one of the planets, at one particular time-frame in the galaxy to contain sentient lifeforms, whatever those are.

The bubbles are all there ever was and ever will be, Amen.

So, there you have it. My little tiny idea for an infinite universe and our place in that endless expanse.

For fun, I’m going to pitch this idea to a few theoretical physicists and see what they have to say. I’ll post their replies if and when I get any.

Until then. . . . . .

About Blog Boss

Jim MacKenzie and Sarah Giavedoni are the creators of the blogs Stuff Monsters Like, the Incredible Vanishing Paperweight, and more. When they are not blogging, they are devoted to managing the Asheville Blogger Society, watching movies, running a completely unrelated nonprofit, and making money at their paid employment.
This entry was posted in Futurism and the Tomorrow Mill and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

