The Internet Does Not Take Sick Days

Sarah Giavedoni - over-employed, and blogger for StuffMonstersLike.com

Admit it? Sure, I admit it. I tend to take on too much.

It’s not that I am necessarily an over achiever. I wouldn’t even say that I’m “driven,” or a “go-getter,” or any other descriptor that workaholics take on for themselves.

However, I do have a habit of collecting jobs like they were valuable pieces of Depression glass.

Over the last couple of years, I’ve taken on a number of little projects, hobbies, and side jobs. And that number keeps growing. The trouble is, I can’t really quit any of them. I just don’t have it in me. Separately, they’re each completely manageable. Together, I think I may have created a monster.

Of the two full-time positions, five part-time positions, and at least another seven “serious hobbies and side projects” I’ve had since graduating college three years ago, I still work a half dozen of them, and have a list I check every day to make sure I’m not forgetting anything. In fact, I’d still be working all the rest if my former employers had returned my last emails.

My thinking? Anything to pay the bills, and hopefully save up for the bookstore I’d one day like to own. The projects that don’t generate any legitimate income? Those I do because I enjoy them.

Today, I’m sitting here sick on my couch, trying to work like I normally do – with the local news or daily soaps on the television in the background. Aside from my current retail position, most of my “jobs” are done on my laptop, many online.

I’ve taken a large-ish dose of Nyquil, and am waiting for my dry, bone-rattling cough to subside. It’s day five. Five days sick, five days behind on all my silly little projects and internet orders. And after five days, I still can’t find my missing chunk of energy and motivation.

But rally I must! In these five days, I’ve had emails to reply to, volunteers to coordinate by email, Twitter feed to maintain, four Fiverr orders to create, a handful of Amazon orders to package and take to the post office, and two freelance writing orders to research and complete – including one rush order.

Rush? I can barely make it to the kitchen and back for more Red Zinger tea with lemon and honey.

The internet is a universe where information is instantly available, continuously shared, and consistently demanded. Financial transactions are instantaneous, and customers expect their orders to arrive at their convenience, not yours. It can be a place of community and camaraderie. But for those of us who are invested in the goings and comings of the net, it can also be a demanding organism of progress.

On days like this, you must realize that the internet doesn’t let you take sick days.

Sarah Giavedoni is a fellow blogger in Asheville, NC with too many day jobs to list. When she does get a little time to herself, she blogs for StuffMonstersLike.com.

About Blog Boss

Jim MacKenzie and Sarah Giavedoni are the creators of the blogs Stuff Monsters Like, the Incredible Vanishing Paperweight, and more. When they are not blogging, they are devoted to managing the Asheville Blogger Society, watching movies, running a completely unrelated nonprofit, and making money at their paid employment.
This entry was posted in Cultural Commentary, Social Media and the Interwebs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

