Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph?

For devoted bibliophiles, no moment is greater than when you get to meet your favorite author.

I have stood in line for hours, clinching a paperback in my sweaty hands, thinking of a cool thing to say when I get to the front. Something to make the writer remember me. Something different from the glob of people cooing all day over his or her words.

The moment arrives. The author smiles. I hand them my copy of his book.
“Who should I make it out to?” he asks.
Then I say something stupid like, “Me.” He doesn’t even know who I am. At least, I have stood out. I’m the stupid fan.

Good times. I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything. An authentic author’s signature makes some books very valuable. Signatures at least make them sentimental.

Soon, this will all change.

E-book authors have an option use an electric stylus for autographs. Just like when you sign for a UPS package.

What is the value of a digital signature? Likely, nothing. If signed books in the future will only feature digital representations of signatures, why not just e-mail your signature to all your readers? There’s no difference.

Since electronic signatures will likely not add or subtract any value to e-books, you must make your author meeting memorable. Who cares if they sign the book or not? You can just download their signature later. Maybe future e-books will just scan author thumbprints.

Remember this, when you meet your favorite e-book author, getting a signature will be irrelevant. Walking away with a good memory will be everything.

About Blog Boss

Jim MacKenzie and Sarah Giavedoni are the creators of the blogs Stuff Monsters Like, the Incredible Vanishing Paperweight, and more. When they are not blogging, they are devoted to managing the Asheville Blogger Society, watching movies, running a completely unrelated nonprofit, and making money at their paid employment.
This entry was posted in Authors and Books, Relationship to Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

117 Responses to Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph?

  1. lazyreviewer says:

    ah “me” that made me laugh! thanks

  2. As a writer and fellow bibliophile, I’m so glad to see your take on this. I think we all recognize that the publishing industry is changing, and that e-books are a reality. I’m just glad “they” found a way to keep the charm of seeking an author’s signature — in some form, at least…

    🙂

  3. Ahhhh I would really love to have my books signed by Stephen King!!! I’ll be the stupidest fan then. Haha. Hope he’d remember me. 🙂

  4. Kennedy Smith says:

    I would SOOOO be the less than intelligent fan! And… absolutely, an emailed signature might as well be the author’s name written in mud on a dirty newspaper by a three-year-old and photographed once… then a photograph of that photo is taken, printed out, and photographed again with a photo-shopped image of Stephen King standing next to the print of John Irving’s name faux, muddy signature…. 🙂

    Have a good FRIDAY all….
    🙂
    Kennedy

  5. MandyB says:

    I have never met Stephen personally (alas!) but he did write me a personal letter years ago on his own home letterhead. It is my pride & joy and framed beside my writing desk. A treasure I will never part with.
    One day I hope to see the great man in person.
    Thank you for a very thought provoking blog.

  6. Pingback: Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph? (via ) « Edmondo is THINKING!

  7. You are right that electronic signatures won’t add to the value of e-books… but that is mostly because e-books don’t have any value to start with. Sure, you might have paid something for it in the first place, but it doesn’t have resale value and certainly doesn’t have collectable value.

    I’ll be more scared if they start adding electronic signatures to real books. That would be a travesty because not only would the signature not add value, it would likely subtrack value. I would rather no signature at all than an electronically reproduced one.

  8. maydelory says:

    Mmmmm? Is the wet tongue imprint next. Very few authors wrote anything of any lasting or real interest to me or doubtless to anybody else other than their name and sometimes the date of signing…with a couple of exceptions, these being: Austin Clarke; Nathan Shaham; and Graham Kerr.

  9. I really like this post! But, it’s sad to see the autographed book go away. Sometimes, technology causes us to miss so much of what can be great!

  10. hawleywood40 says:

    Never thought about that. It makes me a little sad.

  11. indyink says:

    One of my favorites as well. I probably wouldn’t be able to get a word out. Excellent commentary… electronic books, psssh. Print is King. No pun intended.

  12. Good point… I think autographs will be obsolete…

  13. willbt says:

    Well, the entire concept of “book-signing” by authors is asinine!
    What author truly gets anything out of signing his autograph over and over and over, appending “Dear…so & so – Best Regards!” f0r stupid sheep-like people who are total strangers?
    It must feel very insulting to a creative mind.
    I’d say the digital autograph is the perfect reward for dopey people who actually take time out of their lives to enforce this idiotic ritual upon hapless writers.
    Let those readers get what they DESERVE: a fascimile!

    • Johnc1417 says:

      There’s nothing insulting about it, it’s actually very rewarding and honorable that those “sheep like people” buy your books and download you novella’s and support your dreams and livelihood and you can see with your own eyes the appreciation reflecting off your own hard work. Those ‘sheep’ are who keep your food on the table, those “dopes” are the reason you don’t have to get up and get a job. Those “so-so’s” that you want to label as pathetic; which doesn’t say much for yourself because your on a random forum insulting authors your caring about their fans and showing the love. Yes sure some are fakers, but I’ve experienced and heard stories of many greats that have been touched and flattered by the massive responses of their book signings. That’s why Stephen King used to allow fans to see books to his house- it wasn’t a money thing, he didn’t really need it. And if it was such a dignity stripping torture chamber of a task, he wouldn’t of done it consistently for twenty years. Just shut up and keep your negativity and blatant fallacies to yourself sir.

  14. myra22 says:

    I love my Kindle. Love, love, love it. Because it takes the 7 lbs. worth of books I once kept in my giant mega purse at the same time, and consolidates them into this 1 lb. machine of amazing. I LOVE my Kindle. However, I also love my old books and the idea that there are already authors willing to forego the print version, opting for e-book only makes me cringe. Electronic signatures? Now that’s just ridiculous. Surely they jest.

    • sonya madden says:

      my dr. has an electronic signature, also, but seeing him in person makes treatment much more “person-able”.
      I’d like the memory of meeting someone to be lasting, whether he or she signed my book or not.
      the age of computers and technology is scaring me. It sure does make writing books easier.

  15. Kalestia says:

    I actually think you have a point there! Good post!

  16. newauthoronamazon says:

    Hi,
    Wow makes you ponder …. the price we sometimes pay for technology … is it or is it not worth it. By the way I am an author … would you want a copy of my autographed book ?

  17. gmomj says:

    Now the Dali Lama that is a signature I could hold on to.
    Stephen King? Not so much.
    Nice post and congrats on being FP.

  18. J Maz says:

    I beg to differ (slightly) on the value of a digital signature. If digital signatures weren’t “valuable” they wouldn’t be accepted to sign financial and legal documents, yet they are.

    What makes the digital signature “valuable” is the exclusivity of the signature. If the author were to email every fan a digital signature then he/she is diluting the value of course.

    However if authors only E-Autographed copies from readers they have met, then by all means the signature would hold valuable. An autograph value lies in the proof that it is real, the popularity of the author/celebrity, and the rarity.

    As a suggestion, authors could use a voucher type system to request and E-Autograph. You could acquire one from a “signing” or appearance at a retail location etc. Recipients could then redeem them on the author or publishers website and this way they would be sent a signed copy of the e book. The file would obviously be protected so it may not be altered, and maybe even have a special serial number.

    Just my thoughts, let me know what you think.

  19. Josh says:

    good article and good points. I just think your a little against technology. I have a Nook which I’m very happy with. Its much cheaper and more efficient as well. Plus I don’t live where they have famous authors come for book signings. Its a win-win for me

  20. jessicaber says:

    1st I have that prism. 2nd I used to work at Borders Books and you are very lucky if you get a cool author like Stephan King to come in and do book signings. 3rd my sons’ aunt used to do yard work for Stephan King and she is a published author now.

  21. thor27 says:

    Stephan King is an excellent writer. Very gifted !!!

  22. Jailson Rainer says:

    hahaha.. Funny!

  23. Matt says:

    There’s just something inherently wrong with having that kind of option for ebooks. Don’t get me wrong: I’m all for technological advances but the fact authors can ‘sign’ their ebook….

    I can’t stop shaking my head at that.

  24. richmza says:

    Wow, I haven’t had the chance to meet one of my favorites authors yet, but reading this was really funny:
    “The moment arrives. The author smiles. I hand them my copy of his book.
    “Who should I make it out to?” he asks.
    Then I say something stupid like, “Me.” He doesn’t even know who I am. At least, I have stood out. I’m the stupid fan.”

    ^_^! I didn’t know about electronic signatures!!
    This post was great!
    Greetings from Argentina!

  25. The whole e-book thing makes me so sad, and now it’s contributing to a deconstructing of all the other great things that go with real books, like the signature. A screen will never replace the beautiful pages of a real book!

  26. Some people claim that King is not literature. Those people are usually academics with their heads up their egghead asses. King’s “On Writing” is one of the best on the craft. Double like.

    • bookfreak0 says:

      I love “On Writing”. Some people claim King publishes his laundry list. Please! People, try to write the books he does. Try to read Misery and then write a book like that? Maybe he knew someone who suffers from manic depression? People read papers and books to get their ideas and interpret the world IN FICTION TO ENTERTAIN.

  27. Getting Marge Piercy to sign one of her books for me is a favorite memory. It was definitely about the face-to-face. I think I stammered out a “thank you” for writing a particular poem or something.

    I got a slight twinge of that when a member of the Violent Femmes re-tweeted me recently, but it’s not the same.

  28. divaonmydoorstep says:

    My book, Diva On My Doorstep, was just written into a screenplay. I should have the finished copy in my hands this weekend. You can find it on the Kindle and the Nook.

  29. It’s an interesting time for authors! ‘

    My new book is just out, and e-books — to our surprise — are outselling the hardcover. I’m happy to find buyers in any format, but it’s a lot more fun to meet readers face to face, hear their questions and comments, and sign a book. I’m sure technology will soon solve this.

    • bookfreak0 says:

      i just put out “Obsessive Trap” for $1.00 and it came out in 15 minutes. The cost of traditional publishing had driven up the cost of “DTB” to 12.00 for a stinking paperback novel. AND a cat can destroy a book with stratching it and peeing on it. An ereader can be protected in a case. it is so lightweight, it’s ridiculous! for a library of over 1,000 books, why not?

  30. oldtimer says:

    Years ago I remember reading an account of someone who stopped King on the street and asked for an autograph. He refused. When asked why he said, “I wrote a whole book for you.”

    It’s one of those stories I hope is true.

  31. I am a bookworm. (Or, as you said in the first line, a bibliophile.) I have never gotten an author signature, but that would be awesome. And the memory would be everything, not just the signature.

  32. Margie says:

    I sent a letter to Erma Bombeck once. I told her how much valued her book about Children Surviving Cancer (now that we had a child with Cancer.) She wrote us back. That was even better than a Signature in the book!

  33. klrs09 says:

    Loved your post. Interesting — never thought about electronic signatures. I have never stood in line to have a book signed — if Stephen King ever came to my neck of the woods, though, I probably would, and I’d be the imbecile fan. I did get to see his house in Bangor, Maine two summers ago. He wasn’t there — just some gardeners and such. But, I touched the fence!

  34. I met one of my favourite authors – or rather, an author I like – twice during one day. He couldn’t pronounce my name and the first time I met him I asked for a hug – I later found out he doesn’t like hugging strangers.

    I doubt I made any impression, and the biggest impression he made on me was being real, but it’s still a nice memory. Certainly better than a digital signature.

  35. Good point, but I guess for the generations growing up as ‘Kindlers’ the digital signature will have its own value, or there will be some other element that rises out of the changing of the times, something that gives nostalgia and value. Time will tell, I guess.
    Congrats on the FP!

  36. What an interesting concept… I had no idea e-signatures would even be desired. Sure as heck if I’d ever want one. I don’t see the value in them, short or long-term. But meeting a favorite author would be nice!

  37. I completely ‘feel ya’ on the King thing. I assume people consider me nuts, because when in conversation about if we could meet anyone in the world who would it be…well, you guessed it, I always say the man himself. I get quite the stares. Okay, so I don’t follow Hollywood celebrities or world leaders…boring! I would love even a mere half hour with this man, over lunch, preferably on his lap, just picking his brain for information. Yes, the way he thinks may come across as a little twisted and disturbing, but isn’t that what makes it so brilliant? He taps into things over and over again effortlessly that the rest of us barely give thought to. Wow! To have a mind like that.

  38. xoxofrets says:

    I haven’t read any of his books but I’m planning to though. i would also love it if he’ll e-mail me his autograph. and maybe I’ll be asking some of the stars to do it too.

  39. 2009alaba says:

    I subscribe to your initiative, this is a welcome development.

  40. Hillary says:

    Well, I’m glad that e-books haven’t caught on in the Philippines yet!

  41. Gian Carlo says:

    Ah! having your books signed by the author was absolutely incredible. 🙂

  42. Gina Penn says:

    I recently attended a writer’s convention in Austin, Texas and this was a topic of discussion. We came to the consensus that print books aren’t going to go away-ever-but they will become a collectible sort of rarity, therefore, the autograph will also not be going anywhere.

    As an e-author just learning my chops in this biz, I find creative ways to give autographs to people that ask for one. I carry little cards with me at all times and autograph those to give to people. I’ve also printed title pages, autographed those and given them away. E-books aren’t the end of an era-they’re the beginning of one. An autograph, regardless if it’s in ink or electronic, holds meaning as long as the holder gives it meaning.

    Just my two cents.

    Also, two weeks before I was scheduled to fly to MN to meet Stephen King at a reading for “Under The Dome” I sprained both my ankles. I flew to MN on two sprained ankles, hobbled from the hotel to the theatre in extreme pain and waited there to get an autographed book. Was it worth it? Oh yeah. I’d do it again, if called upon to do so.

  43. Wow, I envy you! I’d love to meet Stephen King… Or J. K. Rowling. Not an e-signature, though… a real life one in ink. 😀

  44. sridas says:

    Whats there whether the autograph will be digital or inky. only the feelings and essence of touch of your favourite author will be missing in digital one. i agreed to be mailed.. cause its only the creation that lives long not the autograph.

  45. I wouldn’t mind the e-signature if it came with a personal dedication, but a reproduction of the name? Nah. I got some books signed by Terry Pratchett, and half the fun was lining up and seeing the man himself writing away as the line shortened. I had time to go over and over what I would say (Naturally I fluffed it when I got to the front and babbled at him. He was gracious and polite, given the number of people asking the same stupid question….). One of my regrets in life was not havingthe chance to meet Douglas Adams, another writer who influenced me greatly growing up. He’d have embraced the ebook revolution, and I would have prized any personalisation from him, I guess.

  46. I have done that exact thing! In fact, it’s probably a good thing I’m not meeting Kim Harrison this summer or I’d be guaranteed humiliation.

    But in worrying about the “value” of a book, some people seem to be forgetting that the value of any book is in the writing itself, not in any perceived resale profit. I have never bought a book and thought, “Ooo, I’m going to turn a tidy profit on this.” (Actually I did once, but it was a leather bound version of the first Harry Potter, unsigned which I read before reselling.) The value of a signature is meeting the author not the ink on the paper. I have a book signed my Issac Asimov and the value it has for me beyond the stories themselves, is the knowledge that Mr. Asimov had it in his hands and I lucked into it secondhand at the The Strand bookstore in New York City.

    With many authors on Facebook now, it’s easier to “meet” your favorites and “talk” to them without being under pressure to perform in a split second. Commenting on a favorite author’s post and getting a response is just as exciting for me as meeting them in person mostly because I haven’t gone deer in the headlights in front of their table.

  47. aligeorge says:

    I sort of feel like the memory of a meeting is the important thing. I didn’t actually think to ask for his signature when I met a favourite author of mine, China Mieville, partly because it was a chance encounter (I was on holiday and happened to be walking past the store he was doing a signing in right at the time it started) and partly because I felt a bit dumb doing it – he won’t remember me because I told him my name, and he may be pleased I like his books but that doesn’t make me any less of a complete stranger to him. Although he might remember me as the girl whose boyfriend cheerily said “your book doesn’t really sell in the shop I work at!”

  48. zookyshirts says:

    Good point about an author’s signature having less value with e-books, since you could simply download the electronic signature from somewhere. E-books certainly are convenient, but I think paper books still have a place.

  49. dwf1958 says:

    This is very true I have seen all most all of your movies Thank you for being you
    Great work

  50. Nonoy says:

    I’m a very huge fan of Stephen King. I hope I can also get his digital signature in the future. 🙂

  51. bearcat8 says:

    Interesting take indeed. I’d not really considered the notion that an e-signature might be something anyone on Earth may desire. I wonder of people will copy and paste them to other users e-books??

  52. Autographs are a little weird. They have this totemic value, as if we have walked away with a little bit of hair or a nail clipping from a holy person.

    Signatures don’t add real monetary value anymore, because of the mass signings that mean there are hundreds of thousands of signed Stephen Kings out there. What they add is sentimental value–they’re a reminder of the moment that we actually exchanged a few words with an author we admired, even if our part was to say something stupid and their part was to smile kindly as if they hadn’t heard the same thing a thousand times. If they’re really nice and not too tired, they make a real eye to eye connection–I fondly remember Alison Bechdel for the genuineness with which she responded when we came to the front of one of those endless lines and said our few words of appreciation (and I don’t think we got an autograph, because we already owned all her books and forgot to bring any along). I don’t need her autograph; I have the memory.

    So what is an e-signature trying to capture . . . ?

    Nice post–glad you were Freshly Pressed!

  53. Pingback: Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph? | Travel to Kelantan

  54. Pingback: Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph? (via ) « My Blog is Problematic

  55. taureanw says:

    I would think the best part of getting an author’s autograph would be the experience. The sweaty hands, the awkward conversation, all that would mean more to me then the signature on the paper. Knowing me I would lose the book in a couple of years (if not months) but that memory would be with me until the end.

  56. Pingback: Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph? | Travel to Johor

  57. Pingback: stephen king, writing, and grape apes « where i put my stuff

  58. Kenny Penny says:

    Brilliant! I am an e-book author and thanks to your idea I can NOW connect in a personal way with my adoring fans like NEVER before! AWESOME!

    From now on I SHALL offer a free e-mailed e-signature with every e-book. Yes, it will make my wrist hurt from all those signatures… but so what? I can now personally look directly into my gleeful fan’s subject line, smile into their email address and reach out and touch their lives with not only a NEW email, but one FROM ME, filled with digital characters strung into a line that perfectly copies my name, letter… for letter. EXACTLY the same. Yeah. I know.

    All… from my own fingers….

    To theirs.

    Sigh. I give too much.

  59. Pingback: Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph? (via ) « Preternatural Post

  60. I’ve said before, and I’ll say it again; I think e-books are a good idea, if for no other reasons than these: 1) It’s convenient and reaches a lot more people. 2) It’s saving a lot of trees. This illustrates that if only for the collector, printed books are important and are here to stay. Like your blog entry here. I’ve recommended your site to our readers at http://www.OverlookConnection.com and our facebook account.

  61. Kristine_ES says:

    almost met douglas preston and lincoln child…but borders went bankrupt and the event was cancelled. bookstores are wheezing dinosaurs, it seems, and it’s very sad.
    “would you sign my kindle, please?” yuck.
    would love to meet mr. king as he is one of my greatest inspirations.
    and did get to meet mr. richard marcinko, author of rogue warrior. i’ll never forget that day, and his flesh and blood autograph is still treasured.

  62. slickme2 says:

    Left to the e-book sellers, I’m pretty sure they will start charging a price for the e-autograph.

  63. Jesse O says:

    And that’s why I’m glad I made myself look like an idiot in front of Seamus Heaney

  64. david du hempsey says:

    Oh, this is very accurate and just on time blog.

    I just finished my last crime novel and i can assure you that i also think about this, because these days over 50 % of my readers are buying e-books. Just a fact.

  65. Jake says:

    Stephen King is my neighbor. Every once in a while I’ll see him in the grocery store.

  66. Eva McCane says:

    love his writing.

  67. This is so funny. I just posted about King’s book On Writing.

    I don’t have an e-reader yet, but I think I will one day simply because I want to read way more books than I want to own. I do love the books I own however. I think if there is an author I really love I will continue to purchase their paper books, and continue to wait in line for their real signatures.

    No email will ever replace the snarky reply I got from David Sedaris when I begged him to do a drawing along with his signature. It was something along the lines of “Well aren’t we presumptuous?”

    In the end he did draw a picture in my copy of When You are Engulfed in Flames. 😀

  68. The Unpromised One says:

    You have no idea how lucky you are just to MEET Stephen King, let alone to have him sign your book. It must have been the experience of a lifetime to meet one of the greatest authors that ever existed.

  69. Cynthia Clay says:

    Hey! As someone pointed out, those e-signatures are valid. What a way to get rich! Just steal author signatures! But smart-mouthing aside, here’s a way to collect signitures of your favorite authors whether their books are in paperback or e-book. If an author has any brochures or bookmarks he or she gives away, as they so often do, collect these. Or if they don’t print out an image of the cover from book selling site, or print out the author’s bio. Put the bookmark or cover art or bio in a scrap book and take the scrapbook to the author’s reading. Ask the author to sign you the bookmark or cover art or bio. You’ll have a scrap book full of autographs of all your favorite authors.

  70. djpaterson says:

    Great post – being the proud owner of many signed books (including one by Sai King), I’d never even considered the implications of E-readers on book signings.

  71. Cy Quick says:

    He writes nasty stuff, like so many authors do these days, Edgar A Poe onwards. If I had a piece of furniture propped up with one of his books in the apartmwent, I would feel unclean. We need to accentuate the Positive to eliminate the negative.

  72. metaphase says:

    I remember reading King at age 14. I thought he was the coolest. Though I’ve sort of moved on, I can still respect his somewhat twisted mind. I’m certainly not creative enough to come up with that stuff.
    For some reason, your post (which was interesting) left me thinking, “Gosh, that’s kind of sad.” Call me a sentimental science geek. 🙂

  73. vandysnape says:

    Stephen King is one of my favourite authors and I would love get an (handwritten)autograph from him some day..:) 🙂

    I agree with what you’ve said about digital books.. In my opinion E-books are one of the unhealthy trends cropping up today.. There is nothing that can match the pleasure that you get from actually touching your book or that smell of a new book (or old .. the one in libraries)..

  74. rotflmonsta says:

    What’s the point with ebooks

  75. Connie T says:

    I downloaded an e-book from the library. I can read it on my computer. I find it hard to keep track of where I am at in the book.

  76. I am more fascinated by the different opinions on Stephen King than I am by the issue of electronic signatures.

  77. Pollyanna says:

    I loved Stephen King. I have a huge collection of mint condition, 1st edition hardbacks with dust jackets (I could never find a 1st edition of Carrie though). I don’t know why I still have them. I’m not such a fan anymore.

    I write myself and always want to provide a print and electronic copy. I would love to see paper books stay around, the Kindle thing just isn’t the same.

    Thought provoking post thanks. I never even considered the signature thing. My take is, if you feel so strongly about getting an autograph, there’s probably a writer in you bursting to get out.

  78. Pollyanna says:

    I just realised how stupid my previous comment was!!!! Obviously you are a writer! ha ha. we’re all stupid sometimes!!!

  79. Firstly, congrats on being FP’d and secondly, love the blog!

    However, I was a little saddened to read this latest post and the comments. I LOVE SK by the way and I would be honoured to have a signed copy of one of his books. He may not be a literary genius by most standards, but the guy has written many brilliant books and to us lowly writers, he is King in more ways than one.

    What still saddens me is the ‘anti-digital’ brigade that still exist. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love books in any shape or form, but digital is the future, whether you like it or not. I would hate to see book shops and libraries close and don’t think that it will ever happen, there are way too many traditional book lovers out there, but stop for a minute and consider the plus side to ebooks;
    Environmentally, they cost almost nothing to produce or distribute, so they are very green – got to be a good thing, right? This also means, that they SHOULD be more affordable (depends on who has published them?) which is great for the reader.
    Also, hugely convenient. Could you take a paperback to the gym and stick it on the treadmill or carry 1,500 different books in your bag at once?
    The other thing that irks me is the slating writers get for deciding not to take a traditional (DEAD TREE PUBLISHING) deal over going indie/digital.
    Take this scenario: My book, Sugar & Spice is currently #2 in the UK Kindle Store and has sold 50,000 copies since January, that is in the time that an agent has been sat on it waiting to decide whether to represent it or not! IF they do and they manage to convince a publisher to take it on, it would be a MINIMUM of another 18 months before it hit the shelves. At the rate of sales per month at the moment, I would lose approximately a quarter of a million more sales!
    A no-brainer me thinks!
    Saffina Desforges will have the first book in The Rose Red Crime Series live on Amazon and Nook for the end of July and Equilibrium (an urban fantasy) by October. (oh and there is a US edition of S&S also available right now!) That will be 4 books in 10 months…how can DTP keep up with that?

  80. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    This would be so nice to have Stephen King-THE STAND is a spiritual message that I loved.

  81. whatsaysyou says:

    Cool post and congrats for being Freshly Pressed.

  82. I’m faithful that as this ebook revolution continues, we will figure out a way to document a personal connection with a beloved author. A signature on paper in ink is just a way to say, “hey, that REAL person who has done a great thing touched this paper and here’s the proof.” There are a few ebook authors offering “limited edition” signed paper copies through createspace.com and other publishing sites. It’s a great time to be writing!

  83. raindeocampo says:

    so true.. so true… times are a changin’ 🙂

  84. I am the dinosaur. I don’t own a Kimble or do ebooks (yet). I still love the feel of holding the book, turning the pages, the smell of paper and ink. That to me is part of the pleasure of reading. yourbookreviews host

  85. Your post caught my interest because if there was one living author in the world I would like to meet it is Stephen King..sigh..
    e signatures can never replace the opportunity to look into the eyes of brilliance and…yes say something like “me”
    Thanks!
    Chris

  86. Pingback: Stephen King, Can You E-Mail Me Your Autograph? | Travel to Sabah

  87. mir says:

    Heyyyy, that’s a Lamy fountain pen. I used one of those in school. In black. Still got it. Haven’t used it in years. It’s ball-pens and computer keyboards these days.

  88. So true! I don’t get what all the fuzz is about with e-books anyways, I wouldn’t want to lose the feeling and smell of the paper in the book etc.. There’s so much more to it to read a “real” book than to read something on your computer. But perhaps that’s just me. 🙂 Great post!!

  89. The Hook says:

    So much for the human factor, right? Seriously though, great post!

  90. tooltrainer says:

    I have to say, the notion of eBooks having “no value” is an interesting one. What exactly is the value of information? Is it quantifiable? That’s what we pay for in an eBook after all, the information contained within. So certainly there must be some value there…?

    I’m reminded of the saying that “something is worth what an able and willing buyer will pay”, but obviously that changes when something is digital and can be instantly and infinitely reproduced and distributed. Still, something just isn’t sitting right with me at the notion that an eBook has no intrinsic value just because it’s digital. OK sure perhaps it has no *resale* value, and there may be no secondary market for it at all. But still… I dunno…

    I don’t like to think that we are as a culture heading down a path where information is considered to have no value just because of the means in which it is disseminated.

    Hurm.

    Jonathan

  91. Andini Rizky says:

    Oh, you’re right! Didn’t occur to me the author can e-mail his autograph later. Chat longer! Make it memorable!

  92. annapos says:

    Miluji vaše knihy, nikdy TO není jen horor, je TO veliký příběh, a každý TO, ve svém životě prožije, TO jak to umíte jen vy, všechno je tak živé jak jsem TO prožila i já, ať je kniha elektronická, nebo na krásném bílém papíře, nikdy a nikdo nedokáže dát do filmu TO. Vaše obdivovatelka Anna

  93. The signature itself isn’t the important thing to be considered here – when you look at a signature you’re thinking back to the experience you had meeting the author you revere – and the same would be true if the signature WAS digitized.

    ‘why not just e-mail your signature to all your readers? There’s no difference.’
    Then why not buy the signed copy from eBay instead of going to the trouble to meeting the author in the first place?

  94. Facundo Urrea says:

    I do not know if you read Spanish. Nevertheless, even when English is not my language and I do not write it very well, I have had the courage to do my best and drop you a few lines only to invite you to read my blog. The reason? Well, three famous writers signed up four books for me in the past. Ernesto Sabato, who passed away recently; the mexican Carlos Fuentes, and Mario Monteforte Toledo, who maybe not well known in the States, but who was a really good guatemalan writer. Some years ago, I got rid of these books: El túnel, by Sabato; Entre la piedra y la cruz & Llegaron del mar, by Monteforte, and, finally, Instinto de Inez, by Carlos Fuentes, all of them with their signatures. Why did I do such a stupid thing? Well… Read about that on three posts of El Ideario de Facundo. Sorry, my English is absolutely awful, I have never studied your language, I’ve learned listening English speakers, watching movies and going time after time to my old Collins Dictionary. Nice blog!
    http://elideariodeunescribiente.wordpress.com/?s=desh%C3%A1gase+de+sus+libros
    I was born and live in Guatemala City, Central America.

  95. Deina says:

    Well, that’s sure an empty thing – an electronic autograph. Ugh! I wrote to Stephen King once and did get back an autograph, but nothing more. I’d actually asked him a question I’d hoped he’d actually answer. Oh, well, guess you can’t expect a personal response from someone as busy as him… but it’s better than him signing his name with a stylus (which isn’t easy, I know from trying to sign in those stupid boxes at stores…) Congrats on the feature!

  96. sthowell says:

    I plan to be a published author soon, and if my fans value a pen & ink autograph I’ll be happy to empty the reservoir of my best pen for them over and over again. There are certain authors I admire enough (Mr. King is one.) that having their signature would be über-cool simply as a souvenir of the time I crossed paths with such creative talent. One can’t measure the value of the enjoyment of such an abstract thing.
    I love my Kindle as much as anyone, but I pray that the paper book sticks around forever. There’s nothing like the feel, smell, and search-ability of a real book, at least until ebook readers evolve into something they currently are not.
    Cheers, All.

  97. matthewhyde says:

    Never really thought about the autograph issue, and it does seem to be a shame if digital kills this. I recently got one of my favourite books signed by the author, and it was the highlight of the event I was attending. That said, the real joy of the meeting was being able to express thanks for the author’s work, with the autograph simply being a memento of that. Those opportunities will still be there with e-books, but I guess they’ll become rarer…

  98. I agree with this thought..:)

  99. S.C.Ragan says:

    I have always been an avid reader, and recently gave in and bought a Kindle a couple of years ago in an effort to save money on my book spending habits. Not to mention how quickly I can get all my books! I digress though. I have never obtained an authors signature or attempted to obtain one or meet them, just admired from a distance. Now that you have brought up this point, however, I feel kind of sad like I missed out! 😦
    Great post though! Thanks!

  100. jackshack01 says:

    “Me” Ha ha, nice post! Love it!

  101. jessicaber says:

    You and I have common interests Jailson. We both liked this “press” and we both commented on the one about the royal wedding.

  102. Pingback: Stephen Kings and e-books « Books and my blog

  103. Ahhhh I would really love to have my books signed by Stephen King!!! I’ll be the stupidest fan then. Haha. Hope he’d remember me. 🙂

  104. Pingback: The Isle of Bute . . . in Limerick, although the Isle of Bute is in Scotland « Far & Beyond: A Saga of Publishing

  105. Rochie says:

    I dont like e-books that much. Tangible is still the best. 🙂

  106. Well, that’s sure an empty thing – an electronic autograph. Ugh! I wrote to Stephen King once and did get back an autograph, but nothing more. I’d actually asked him a question I’d hoped he’d actually answer. Oh, well, guess you can’t expect a personal response from someone as busy as him… but it’s better than him signing his name with a stylus (which isn’t easy, I know from trying to sign in those stupid boxes at stores…) Congrats on the feature!

  107. Mmmmm? Is the wet tongue imprint next. Very few authors wrote anything of any lasting or real interest to me or doubtless to anybody else other than their name and sometimes the date of signing…with a couple of exceptions, these being: Austin Clarke; Nathan Shaham; and Graham Kerr.

  108. Great post – being the proud owner of many signed books (including one by Sai King), I’d never even considered the implications of E-readers on book signings.

  109. Pingback: Adiós al libro de toda la vida |

  110. Thanks for sharing content to read.

  111. rogerthepoet says:

    You make a good point, I am an author myself and have thought about this problem. Perhaps in the future it could work like this: You meet the author and ask for his signature, he signs and writes a message on a piece of paper, the message is scanned and included into his/her book then sent to your kobo (or whatever). Well I guess we’ll wait and see what happens in the future.

Leave a Reply

